Did NFL refs get ‘leverage’ call right that swung Colts-Broncos?

https://platform.sbnation.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2025/09/Screenshot-2025-09-14-at-6.35.45%E2%80%AFPM.png?quality=90&strip=all&crop=0%2C9.9397112486118%2C100%2C80.120577502776&w=1200

The Denver Broncos thought they were 2-0. The Broncos led the Colts by two points on the final play of the game when Colts kicker Spencer Shrader shanked a 60-yard field goal as the buzzer sounded. Denver's celebration had just begun when everyone realized there was a flag on the play.

The refs called the Broncos for "leverage" on the kick, resulting in a 15-yard penalty and another try for Shrader. Shrader banged in the 45-yarder, and the Broncos were stunned to walk away with the loss. Somehow, Daniel Jones' Colts are now 2-0, while Denver falls to 1-1.

The refs legitimately swung the back for the Colts. Did they might the right call?

Here's how the NFL rulebook legislates leverage:

“Placing a hand or hands on a teammate or opponent to gain additional height to: (1) block or attempt to block an opponent's kick or apparent kick, or (2) attempt to jump through a gap to block an opponent's kick or apparent kick.

Watch the play here:

This seems like light call to me with the game on the line. Did the Broncos really have a defensive player jumping or standing on a teammate in an attempt to block the kick? It's close but I'm not sure I'm buying it.

Here's what Sean Payton said about the call after the game. "We had a number of opportunities to not be in that position late. Unfortunately, we shot ourselves in the foot too many times."

What a brutal way to lose for Denver.

×