
Bears got screwed by refs on the Lions’ last second TD drive after Isaac TeSlaa catch

14/09/2025 21:00
The Chicago Bears had just scored a touchdown to cut the Detroit Lions' lead to 21-14 near the end of the second quarter in Week 2 of the 2025 NFL season. The Lions got the ball back with less than two minutes left, and they immediately started mounting a drive down the field.
With 21 seconds remaining and no timeouts, Detroit QB Jared Goff hit rookie receiver Isaac TeSlaa for a huge downfield strike. TeSlaa hauled the ball in with one hand, but he appeared to be touched before sliding out of bounds. The Lions couldn't get lined up to spike the ball quickly enough, and the halftime whistle blew.
The refs then reviewed the TeSlaa catch, and ruled he was out of bounds after the grab. With six seconds left on the clock, the Lions scored a touchdown on a short pass from Goff to Amon-Ra St. Brown.
Bears fans are losing their mind over the call. It sure looks like TeSlaa was touched before he went out of bounds. Watch the play here:
The Bears thought they were going into the half down one score. Instead, the refs put more time on the clock, and the Lions scored a touchdown the next play. What a devastating turn of events for Chicago.
Here's St. Brown's touchdown catch:
Here's how the refs explained their decision, via ESPN reporter Courtney Cronin:
Here’s the explanation we were just given on that confusion at the end of the 2nd Q.
-Isaac TeSlaa makes that crazy catch on the sideline
-Official closest to TeSlaa called him out of bounds
-One official said TeSlaa was in bounds
-Clock was at 16 seconds when they went back to review whether it was a catch or not (via replay assist)…thus, a 10 second run-off
-Clock was at 6 seconds after it was reviewed. That’s how much time was put back on for the Goff to St. Brown TD after the Bears had come back onto the field after thinking that there was no time left in the half.
National NFL reporters couldn't believe it:
Bears fans had a meltdown over the overturned call.
What do you think: should the clock have kept running after TeSlaa's catch? It looks like he was touched before he went out of bounds to me. That's a game-swinging decision.